Birthday Presents!

So last Monday I (Amy) turned 26 – I had a great few days, catching up with family and friends, relaxing and eating cake. As i’m now well on the distance running bandwagon I wanted to share my thoughts on a few of the running related Birthday presents I received this year!

Sweetie birthday cake!
Sweetie birthday cake!

Gymboss MiniMax

My lovely husband gifted me with a gymboss minimax this year, and so far it’s come in very handy! I was getting fed up of the interval timer app on my iPhone which made a hideous noise every time it reached the end of an interval to signal the change to the next one. On some of our regular running routes which are often filled with people walking their dogs it had become particularly embarrassing… especially because it always seemed to beep exactly as we would pass people. I’m not a fan of quietly running up behind old ladies and then scaring them with an air horn type noise, so the minimax felt like the perfect solution as you can set it to vibrate instead of beep!

My Gymboss MiniMax interval timer!
My Gymboss MiniMax interval timer!

The gymboss minimax is very easy to use. It comes with a clip so you can easily attach it to your clothes, armband or belt. It’s a step up from the regular gymboss as you can customise the workout so there are more than two intervals (for example instead of just 1 minute and 3 minutes repeated, you could customise a whole workout with different intervals, like 1 minute, 4 minutes, 3 minutes, 1 minute, 2 minute etc).

You can also save multiple workouts, and then easily return back to them later. For example if I wanted to do 1 minute and 45 seconds one day but then something different the next day I could save those settings and easily come back to them later without having to set everything up from scratch again.

The gymboss minimax also has a stopwatch setting, which will come in really handy when I do races rather than having to fiddle with my iPhone. I don’t think you can use both the interval setting and the stopwatch setting at the same time though which is a little bit disappointing (if you can I obviously haven’t worked out how to yet – so please let me know if there is a way!)

Overall i’m pretty pleased with not beeping and scaring unsuspecting pedestrians every time I go running!

The Flipbelt

The other running related gift I received this year was a very snazzy purple flip belt from my mother. I’ll cut straight to the point here – I LOVE THIS THING! It is so much better than my armband, which if pulled to tight would make my arm go numb, and if too lose would rattle around and fall down to my elbow. The flip belt can carry all my essentials – iPhone, inhaler, plasters, snacks, keys, money and I can clip my gymboss minimax to it!

Its purple!
I’d post a picture of me wearing it but i’ve been struck down with the dreaded lurgy today and nobody wants to see that face!!!

Its so simple to use, you just step into it, pull it up to a comfortable position on your waist, pop your stuff into the slits then flip it over so the side with the slits rests against your body meaning that nothing can fall out. It never ends up looking particularly bulky (even with my stupid shaped inhaler in it) and it doesn’t move around when running either. Who would have thought something so simple would be so effective. I’d recommend this to anyone!

It’s only drawback is obviously that it doesn’t have anywhere built in where you could store or attach a water bottle like some belts do, but given that I have a handheld water bottle anyway for running this doesn’t really bother me.

So there we have it! Both great presents in my opinion and well worth adding to my running gear!

3 thoughts on “Birthday Presents!

  1. Ooh I like the sounds of the flipbelt. I hate anything that moves around. I gave up on a thing to go round my arm for the reasons you describe and haven’t yet seen a belt that I had confidence wouldn’t jiggle. I just need somewhere for keys, phone and bus pass really and as we go for longer, a little snack. Will investigate further. Thanks for sharing

    Like

    1. I would definitely recommend it, just make sure you check the sizes cause they are a bit different to normal clothes. They cost about £25 but honestly I think they are worth every penny!

      Like

Leave a Reply

