Weekly Training recap: Mon 6th July – Sun 12th July

Hope everyone has had a good week! This week has been the first official week of our Wine and Dine Half Marathon training plan. The plan called for two 30 minute runs in the week and then a long run (this week’s is 2 miles – so not so long) at the weekend. Gideon is still out of action due to his shoulder injury so i’ve started the plan by myself.

It’s been a busy week, with a weekend away in Cornwall for a friends wedding. I managed to do both 30 minute mid week run’s but haven’t managed to fit in the 2 mile ‘long’ run this weekend and the bad weather coupled with the fact that i’m exhausted from a fun packed weekend and then driving all day today means i’m not likely too. I am off work tomorrow though, so I may push it into next weeks as it’s “only” two miles!

Monday:

Rest day

Tuesday:

Should have done my 30 minute run today but for logistical reasons I pushed it back till Wednesday as it would be much easier to fit it in then.

Wednesday:

30 minute maintenance run – covered 2.62 miles using run/walk intervals of  3 minutes running and 1 minute walking with an average pace of 11’36” per mile. Didn’t feel to bad considering I haven’t ran much more than a mile for the last few weeks.

Swans EVERYWHERE on this run - had to dodge so many!
Swans EVERYWHERE on this run – had to dodge so many!

Thursday:

30 minute maintenance run – covered 2.34 miles using run/walk intervals of 2 minutes running and 2 minutes walking with an average pace of 12’50” per mile. I think the slower pace today was down to the fact that it was boiling, I took a hilly route and I forgot my interval timer so I had to use the interval timer on my phone which was set at 2:2 and I couldn’t really be bothered to faff with it. I definitely prefer 3 minutes running and 1 minute walking, I feel more challenged and it also makes my pace a bit quicker – so i’m going to try to stick with those intervals.

Hills - Ugh!
Hills – Ugh!

Friday:

Rest day (did do some walking around beautiful Padstow in Cornwall).

The UK really isn't that bad AT ALL!
The UK really isn’t that bad AT ALL!

Saturday:

Rest day (and some crazy wedding dancing!)

Sunday:

Should have done my scheduled 2 miles today but will try to get this done tomorrow instead as i’m so exhausted from all the merriment!

Hoping to get my running buddy back soon for some short easy runs if the physio say’s its ok at his next appointment! Fingers crossed!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Training recap: Mon 6th July – Sun 12th July

    1. Yeah, this is the first week so it’s quite a low distance still (its a beginners plan) they go up in distance each week – the longest is 14 miles I think 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

