Menu Monday: Mickey Shaped Shortbread!

IMG_2752

So the Great British Bake Off is back on our screens in the UK (for my non-UK readers bake off is a show where 12 bakers compete weekly in a number of baking related challenges and are judged by two top celebrity bakers, one is eliminated each week until the final). So naturally i’ve been getting my bake on a bit lately… you can’t watch the bake off without having some baked treats to hand am I right??!?

Last week on the bake off it was biscuit week, so I set about making myself some shortbread! Biscuits are not my strong suit… I cannot get them right they just fall apart when they come out of the oven or stick to the pan. But I am nothing if not determined, so I decided to make them regardless of the fact that they would probably end up being a complete disaster!

I was reminiscing about all the delicious cakes and biscuits they have in Disney World when a thought crossed my mind… this could be the perfect time to use my Mickey shaped cookie cutter! YES! Mickey shortbread for me… and why not dip it in chocolate whilst i’m at it! How badly can it go!

It's actually a Mickey shaped sandwich cutter according to Disney.... not in this house!
It’s actually a Mickey shaped sandwich cutter according to Disney…. not in this house!

Well pretty badly to be honest…. not the worst biscuits i’ve ever made (i’m improving YAY), I sort of forgot that they would expand slightly in the oven so a lot of them mushed together a little bit… but I managed to get 5 that vaguely looked like Mikey (after several fell apart as usual upon transferring to the cooling rack)!

squished together Mickeys!
squished together Mickeys!

They tasted pretty darn good though and I guess that’s the main thing, even though they weren’t the most aesthetically pleasing Mickeys in the world!

Now these are definitely not healthy snacks, they are buttery sugary chocolatey goodness! So if your a runner like me you might be inclined to save it for after your run when you have burned off the calories so you can enjoy it guilt-free!

IMG_2751

Chocolate dipped shortbread:

I used a combination of elements from different recipes I found online to create my recipe.

You will need:

1 cup butter

1/2 cup caster sugar

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 100g bar of milk or dark chocolate (for melting)

Also needed: food mixer

Instructions:

Add butter, sugar and vanilla extract to a mixing bowl and cream together using a food mixer

Add flour to the food mixer a little at a time until a dough has formed

Roll out dough on floured surface to approx. half an inch thick and cut using desired biscuit cutter or knife.

Transfer to a parchment or foil lined baking tray and bake at 170 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes or until biscuits are just starting to set and edges are just starting to brown.

Leave on baking tray for 5 minutes to cool slightly then transfer onto wire rack for 30 minutes or until completely cool

Meanwhile melt chocolate (either in a bowl over boiling water or in microwave).

Once chocolate is melted, dip cooled biscuits in melted chocolate and then place on foil or parchment paper for chocolate to set.

5 thoughts on “Menu Monday: Mickey Shaped Shortbread!

Leave a Reply

