Weekly training recap: Mon 14th Aug – Sun 20th Aug

So we did it! We completed the Swansea Bay 10k this afternoon! The race had a really great atmosphere and we enjoyed ourselves – plus there were a few familiar faces in the crowds cheering us on which gave us a boost! Gideon did amazingly and smashed his PB (of 1hr 13mins 6secs) finishing in 1 hr 8 mins and 21 seconds. I’m so incredibly proud of him! He flew through this race and didn’t stop to walk at all.

My race was not quite as good. As I crossed the line the clock said 1hr 14 mins 30ish seconds and I had no idea how long it had taken for us to cross the start line so I wasn’t sure if I had PB’d or not. My nike+ app said I had but I don’t 100% trust it! I remember feeling a real bitter sense of disappointment as I was running up to the finish and the clock came in to view as I really thought my race was going better than that. I had stopped to walk a few times and it was incredibly warm and I did feel very exhausted by the end… but I still thought I was going to beat my time for sure. It turns out I needn’t of worried! After an agonising 5hrs of waiting for the chip times to be posted it turns out I also PB’d with a time of 1 hr 11 minutes and 7 seconds! Yay!! Not quite as fast as I would have liked but I think my goal was slightly unrealistic to begin with so overall I guess this is not to shabby… plus it’s something to beat again next year! I will do a full race recap in the next few days!

IMG_2936

This week has been light on the training in the run up to todays race. We wanted to rest the legs somewhat so we would be able to try for our PB’s in this race, and it appears it worked!

Monday:

Rest day

Tuesday:

Amy did 20 minutes of a Zumba fitness DVD. The desire to do the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred video was not with me at all this week so I gave something else a go just to give myself a little bit of activity for the day.

Wednesday:

Rest day

Thursday:

Rest day

Friday:

Ran 1 mile to loosen the legs a little for the 10k on Sunday. Average pace 11’24” per mile.

Gid would not go near this guy - hates Swans! But he was harmless!
Gid would not go near this guy – hates swans! But he was harmless!

Saturday:

Went for a short walk around the Gower peninsular from Caswell bay along the coastal path. It was a beautiful day

Costal path views - lots of peeps enjoying the beach today! Perfect September weather!
Costal path views – lots of peeps enjoying the beach today! Perfect September weather!
Tide was right out - the water usually goes right up to the rocks but today all the lovely sand was exposed!
Tide was right out – the water usually goes right up to the rocks but yesterday all the lovely sand was exposed!

Sunday:

Race day! Ran 6.2 miles with an average pace of 11’41” per mile (for Amy) and we both set ourselves new PB’s for the 10k distance (1hr 8mins 21sec for Gid and 1hr 11mins 7secs for Amy).

So it’s back to standard Wine and Dine Half Marathon training now after this weeks brief interlude. I cannot believe we have no more races left until the Wine and Dine half. It’s coming round so fast! Next weekend is an 11 mile scheduled long run! Whilst (in my current exhausted state) the thought of that terrifies me… i’m sure that by next weekend i’ll be ready to accomplish it! Wine and Dine half here we come!!

9 thoughts on “Weekly training recap: Mon 14th Aug – Sun 20th Aug

Leave a Reply

