Weekly training recap: Monday 19th – Sunday 25th Oct

I finally feel as if training has got back on track this week! It wasn’t quite what the plan stated, but it was a solid effort. We decided it was for the best to revise the plan slightly due to the injury and illness we have experienced in the last few weeks so we were aiming for 10 miles as our long run, but managed 8. I’m ok with this. 8 is a solid number, it’s made me remember that I can do long run’s and that I’m probably not as under prepared for the half marathon as I have been thinking in the last few weeks. We stopped at 8 because Gideon twinged his knee slightly when he pulled up to walk and we didn’t want to carry on and potentially hurt it more with the half marathon being so close.

The problem with stopping at 8 miles when you had planned to do 10 miles is that you then have to walk the 2 miles back to where the car is parked. This was slightly annoying as it wasn’t the warmest day (but much better than it would have been in the morning when it was pouring with rain) and we didn’t have a jacket. My stomach was also ready for it’s post run snack after about 5 minutes and did not enjoy having to walk for almost half an hour to get it!

However we did manage to walk those 2 miles in under half an hour – which means that even if that happened at Disney during the half and we were forced to stop and walk to the end, we should be able to maintain a pace of 16 minute miles – that’s definitely reassuring. It’s nice to know that on horribly aching tight legs, we can still walk a decent pace if needed (though I do very much hope we will only need to walk our walk breaks rather than anything longer).

I’ve already started obsessively checking the weather forecast for race day. Yesterday it said the low would be 13 degrees and today it says the low is 20 degrees so I don’t think I can put much faith in it yet! Infact I now wish I hadn’t checked it today because 20 seems much to warm!! Go back to 13!!

Monday:

Ran 2.44 miles with an average pace of 12’09” per mile. I was so happy to have ran over 2 miles – that sounds pathetic knowing we can do 11.5 but honestly after all the colds i’ve been experiencing it was just so nice to be out there for a full half an hour!

IMG_3038

Tuesday:

Ran 1.76 miles with an average pace of 11’12” per mile. It was probably silly to do 2 days in a row, because my legs did ache a lot towards the end which is why it was a bit of a shorter run than intended. If we had waited a day we may have been more inclined to stay out for the full half an hour but oh well, we were able to do somethingΒ and thats the main thing.

IMG_3044

Wednesday:

Rest day

Thursday:

Rest day

Friday:

Rest day

Saturday:

Ran 8.04 miles using run/walk intervals of 2 minutes running and 1 minute walking. Average pace 12’13” per mile. It took us 1hr and 38mins. We then walked a further 2 miles in 27 mins so overall we were out for about 2hrs 10 mins. If this happened in the race and we still had 3 miles to go even if we walked it I think we could still probably finish in under 3 hours which is very very encouraging!

IMG_3053

Sunday:

Rest day – I did use my new foam roller earlier. I used to read other blogs talking about their foam roller and how much it hurt and treat it with a pinch of Salt… I mean its just foam at the end of the day. I TAKE IT BACK GUYS. IT HURTS. IT REALLY REALLY HURTS…. and my legs still ache… so i’m not sure i’m feeling any benefit lol!

So now it’s time to taper. No more long run’s till the half – just short maintenance run’s so that the legs are fully rested for 2 weeks time. It’s kind of scary that the next long run we do will BE the half marathon, but at the same time, my love/hate relationship with long run’s means i’m not all that upset about it!

We are raising money for Make-A-Wish UK by running the wine and dine half marathon at Walt Disney World! If you would like to sponsor us you can do so here!

16 thoughts on “Weekly training recap: Monday 19th – Sunday 25th Oct

  1. You still got a solid training run in! I like the mentality of actually calculating what would happen time-wise if you were forced to stop to walk. I’m looking at races and genuinely figuring out how long it would take if I *hypothetically* walked half of it. It’s just good to have a worst case scenario planned!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Exactly, it does make me feel better knowing that if we did need to walk some we’d (hopefully) still not get swept. This one’s not about time so much as just finishing. As long as I finish I think i’ll go away being happy πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if this will help, but I was injured before my last half and hadn’t been able to run my long runs. The best advice/reassurance someone gave me was that you don’t lose your fitness level that fast. If you could do it during your training then you are fine. And, your adrenaline kicks in on race day and really helps out!! Good luck! I can’t wait to read how it goes!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You will be fine. I am so excited for you and look forward to hearing about your trip and the race! Well done on the 8 miles. There is something about 8 miles for me. I suspect that 8 miles is my comfortable limit really and that everything beyond that is just hell in my mind. I think that just comes from my half marathon though where I was pretty comfortable to 8 miles… I now somehow need to get comfortable to about 18 miles. Your pace looks great. You’ve got this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha yes, 8 miles is where my legs start to really feel achy so I know what you mean! Hopefully as time goes on and you go further 8 miles will turn to 10 miles and 10 to 12 etc!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad you’ve managed to get back out and the colds have gone.. 8 miles is a great distance to get in… you will be fine, I believe you can do it… when do you fly out?? How many days do have to acclimatise?? Will you get a short run in before race day?? X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚ We fly Thursday 5th and race is Saturday (but not till the night) so we have a couple of days. Hopefully it will be ok! Might try to do a little run, will see how we are feeling. Thanks for sponsoring btw πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ahahahaha laughing hard at the foam roller part. I appreciate it so much. I was the exact same before I got mine. Had people straight-up tell me it was going to hurt and I was like lol, isn’t it like a pool noodle? How can that hurt? It will hurt for a couple weeks then you’ll get use to it πŸ˜‰

    2 days in a row is good! Running on tired legs is super beneficial, 1 mile less on tired legs is better than 1 mile more on fresh legs. Running tired = building more strength & preparing you for race day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

