2015: The year of running!

I can’t believe that 2015 is almost at an end. 2015 really has been the year of running for us. We started the year having never even ran a mile. I hadn’t run any distance since doing cross country in school when I was 13 – and even when I did that I did it begrudgingly because I didn’t have a choice. This year, I had a choice. I could choose to carry on being a lazy couch potato, feeling sorry for myself, eating several bags of chocolate a night, putting on weight on constantly feeling under the weather, or I could get up off my butt and do some exercise!

It took a pretty big thing to get me into running – it took the promise of a trip to my favourite place (even if that meant I had to run around it whilst there). Gideon’s dream was to RunDisney and that dream came true this year! We RAN DISNEY!!!! WE RAN FULL STOP! The goal was the Wine and Dine half marathon… and whilst it didn’t turn out to BE a half marathon in the end (you can read about that here) we still RAN DISNEY!!! The dream still came true, and it was pretty awesome!

IMG_3169

image
We Ran Disneyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!

In 2015 we ran our first mile without stopping. We ran our first race – the Bath Two Tunnels 5k. We then ran our first 10k in Caerphilly… and then both PB’d during the Swansea 10k a few months later. Then we jetted off to Florida to complete our ultimate goal of running Disney! It’s been a pretty good first year of running I must say!

IMG_3727

This year, I ran 218.8 miles! WHAAAAAAAAAT?!?! Before the start of this year I didn’t think i’d ever even run 1 mile let alone 218.8! That’s an average of 18.2 miles per month!! I know that might not sound like a lot to some of you seasoned runners, but to me that is MENTAL! I went from running 0 miles EVER… to an average of 18.2 miles A MONTH! WHAT IN THE WORLD?!?!? I may even clock up a few more before 2015 is up! who would have thought?!?!

I’ve always dreamed of running a marathon, but it never seemed like an achievable goal – mostly because I loathed running. But somehow, i’ve grown to love running this year, and i’m not planning on stopping it anytime soon. I may even try for that marathon at some point before i’m 30 (so I have a few years) – it doesn’t seem so impossible anymore. I’ve come so far already, i’m sure I could go a little further.

Gideon and I still have our half marathon goal to reach (as Wine and Dine, through no fault of our own didn’t quite work out as planned) and 2016 will be our year for this! We are signed up to run the IAAF World Half Marathon in Cardiff in March, so fingers crossed that will be our race, and we’ll finally be able to tick that half marathon off the list.

We look forward to continuing with our love of running (and our love of Disney) in 2016 – who knows what the year will bring! I hope it brings more medals and more great memories!

 

IMG_3729
Bring on 2016’s medals!!! 
5 thoughts on “2015: The year of running!

  1. You two are awesome!! I’m so impressed with your transformation, and continue to enjoy reading about it. I look forward to hearing about more running in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! We have considered it, just not sure we can afford it this year. I think they have sold out of travel packages but there are still individual bibs to go on sale soon. Will see what they are priced at. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

