Weekly Training Recap: Mon 4th Jan – Sun 10th Jan

The plan has not gone to plan this week. We had our 5 mile run scheduled for today but Gideon has had a splitting headache since this morning and finally decided to crawl back into bed and admit defeat at about 3pm. I do feel that we need to do this 5 mile run rather than just skip it – so we’ll try and incorporate it into next week somehow – which should be our ‘rest’ week for long mileage, but I don’t really class 5 miles as that long anymore (shocking!!) so I’m sure we can skip the ‘rest’ and get it done.

The IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon takes place on Saturday 26th March, and i’m well aware that the date is not that far away. These setbacks to worry me slightly. Maybe because we had SO much time to prepare for Wine and Dine that it always felt quite far away and when we had setbacks I knew we had plenty of time to catch up. But this one is close – we don’t have the luxury of time. I think that providing we are back up to the 10k+ mileage by the end of January we’ll be ok (and i’ll feel less worried), so if we get this 5 miler in sometime in the next week and then get the 10k done the week after as planned i’ll be happy.

Monday:

Rest day

Tuesday:

Rest day

Wednesday:

30 minute maintenance run – we covered 2.40 miles with an average pace of 12:31 per mile. We reversed our normal route around our neighbourhood so we ended up having to run up all the steep hills instead of down – what were we thinking?!?!?

IMG_3743

Thursday:

Rest day

Friday:

Rest day

Saturday:

Walked 1.43 miles in the rain. That’s right – we’ll walk in the rain, but we won’t run. We are hilarious!

IMG_3754

IMG_3752
Rather muddy day at the Loughor Estuary. 

Sunday:

Skipped 5 mile scheduled run due to illness. Determined to get it in this week though. Winter will not defeat us!

 

Still loving my Garmin running watch. It counts my daily steps as well as tracking runs, and i’ve quickly learnt that I do not walk around enough. My daily step count is way lower than it should be – especially during work days. I really need to make an effort to get up and move around more at work, I’m stuck behind a desk all day, and it can’t be good for me, so i’m going to try really hard to increase my daily step count in the next few weeks. The goal is 7500 steps a day. I’m lucky if I do 3000 on a working day a the moment so i’ve got a long way to go. I’ll keep you updated on how I get on!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Training Recap: Mon 4th Jan – Sun 10th Jan

  1. Oh no – hopefully Gideon is feeling better now.

    Fingers crossed for your 5 miles next week.

    I work in a school and I’m on my feet more than I’m not, but I find that I still don’t do 7500 most days. Usually i’m around 5000ish unless I’ve been for a run.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also work in a school and my goal is at least 8000 before I leave work. What type of Garmin do you have? I’m looking into getting one but it’s hard to decide which one to buy.

    Like

    1. I’ve got a forerunner 15. I’ve only had it a few weeks. They had a flash deal on amazon and I couldnt resist! Its the most basic type I think but does everything I want from it. Tracks steps, does Run/walk intervals etc. You can get a heart rate monitor with it too but you pay extra for that so I didnt bother. Liking it so far though!

      Like

  3. On days I don’t run, I’m usually around 3500 steps when I get home. Thankfully, I have a dog to walk or else I’d probably hover around that often. Yikes! I definitely need to make the effort to walk more at work, as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

