Weekly training recap: Mon 11th Jan – Sun 17th Jan

This week has been another sniffly snotty one for me with the drop in temperature, but we’ve struggled on through and managed to get some running done. We’ve also been on some nice walks this week, and have made the most of a few dry (all be it cold) days. There has been no snow here like there has been in some parts of the UK – but I can definitely do without snow complicating my training so i’m not that upset by it.

Monday:

Rest day

Tuesday:

Rest day

Wednesday:

Ran 2.00 miles using run/walk intervals of 10 minutes running and 2 minutes walking. Average pace of 11’12 per mile. This was going to be our 5 mile catch up run from last weekend but the site of the below soon had us turning round early!!

IMG_3764
I don’t do rain!!

Thursday:

Rest day

Friday:

Ran 5.00 miles using run/walk intervals of 5 minutes running and 1 minute walking. Average pace of 12’16 per mile. You can read how this one went here. It was not enjoyable but at least its done – and the sun shone for what seemed like the first time in forever!

IMG_3783-1

Saturday:

3 mile walk along the seafront to mumbles. It was a cold day but it was nice to get outside and enjoy it! We also did a lot of shopping earlier in the day, which combined with the walk and general activities meant my step count at the end of the day was 12,704! That’s far better than the usual 3000 I manage on an inactive weekday, and even 1000 more than I managed yesterday with a 5 mile run included!

Sunday:

1.5 mile walk around the local woods – the plan was for a run but I’ve finally given in to my snotty nose and didn’t feel like making it worse, so we settled for an after-dinner walk instead!

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 16.28.41
The waterfall is doing well at the moment what with all the rain we have had!

If you read my blog on it’s actual website, rather than the WordPress feed or email, you might notice that it’s had a bit of a makeover! I decided to freshen it up a little and add some more detail, so do let me know what you think! The menu has now got a page where you can find links to previous race recaps, previous Disney World posts and recipes! I’ll try to keep it up to date!

Next weekend we have a 10k scheduled as part of our training for the IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon. I’m hoping we can get it completed and that it will be a better experience than the 5 mile run from this week. I also want to try to improve my pace a little on the shorter runs so i’m thinking of trying out the virtual pacer feature on my Garmin this week to see if it might be useful for pushing myself a bit – i’ll be sure to update you all on how it goes!!

Have a great week everyone!

One thought on “Weekly training recap: Mon 11th Jan – Sun 17th Jan

Leave a Reply

