8 weeks until the half marathon.

54 days…. and this week i’ve done 0 miles of running. Yup.

The week started with a nasty bout of stomach flu/food poisoning (i’m still not sure which), continued with storm Gertrude; the remnants of the big snow storm that hit America a week ago but which just pelted us with extreme rain and insane winds, and ended with my feet being totally ruined because I walked 5 miles in un-sensible shoes and have developed the most horrific blisters on both of my heels. These are all excuses obviously – perhaps the stomach flu was a fairly valid one but we probably could have gone out in the rain if we really wanted too during mid-week and I certainly could have worn more sensible shoes for our walk on Saturday!!

 

IMG_3814
It was a pretty nice walk even if it did destroy my feet!

So how do we plan on getting race ready when the furthest we have ran since the ‘half-half marathon’ in November is 5 miles?? We’ll I’ve had to tweek my initial training plan a bit and it’s now looking like this (week 1 being the coming week):-

Week 1:ย 

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – between 5k and 10k (depending on how we feel)

Week 2:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – 8 miles

Week 3:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – 5k

Week 4:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – 10 miles (we also have a 5k race this weekend!!)

Week 5:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – 5k

Week 6:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – 12 miles

Week 7:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

1 x long run – 5k

Week 8:

2 x 30 min mid-week runs

2 x cross training

Half Marathon!!

I do think this is an ambitious plan and inevitably we will fail on some of it (most likely the cross training) but at the same time it’s 8 weeks of intensive training, rather than months and months, and I think we might be able to get ourselves out the door if we tell ourselves that it’s only 8 weeks and then we can have a little rest!

In other news I have a week off work this week and tomorrow I am off for a spa day! Full use of the gym, pool, jacuzzi etc and full buffet lunch! I plan on having a good old relax before 4 days of intensive masters-dissertation writing. The spa does have a gym with a treadmill which I fully intend on using to get some miles in as long as the blisters on my feet are feeling a bit happier. I’m going to try for between 5k and 10k depending on how bored I get. Treadmills are a bit of a novelty for me as I don’t own one or have a gym membership so i’m hoping i’ll actually enjoy the change and get a good run in. The last time I used a treadmill was on our holiday to Greece and I ran a whole 5k so hopefully I can repeat that, and then i’ll definitely have earned my lazy afternoon by the pool and my buffet lunch!!

5 thoughts on “8 weeks until the half marathon.

  1. Good plan. It is do-able. My son and I ran the York 10 miles last year (and would have done the Disney Wine and Dine Half) never having run further than 10K in an event or training. Our training was 1x parkrun (5K) every week plus a 1 hour mid-week run at 4:1 or 5:1 running intervals. I reduced the running interval down to 3 minutes for our events and managed to average 11 minute miles for the 10 mile event. The Disney one was really slow but still manageable, as you know, and we could have finished the whole distance. Find what works for you and you’ll be fine ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

