Weekly training recap: Mon 8th Feb – Sun 14th Feb

So training has been mixed this week. We only managed a short run mid-week and haven’t done any cross training, but we did manage to complete our scheduled 8 mile long run this weekend!! I cannot tell you how happy it makes me to have completed those 8 miles! I was really starting to worry. We have had several bad long runs in succession and fell behind on the plan, and I was so scared that if we didn’t do the 8 miler this week we just wouldn’t be ready for the half marathon. But we did it! We actually haven’t run that far since November which is a bit crazy, but at last I feel like we are back up to achieving some ‘long’ long run’s now and that we may actually be ok come March.

We decided to run the normal route in reverse this morning which I think helped mentally. We have struggled with the last few long runs and mentally I didn’t feel like going back to that place and struggling again, so starting from the other end of the bay was sufficient enough to make it feel like a ‘different’ run (if that makes sense) and to take away some of the anxiety associated with the long runs.

The first mile or so was ok – we started out at a comfortable pace and completed the first mile in 12:04, which is a good comfortable training pace for us. I think we have been going a bit fast for the past few long run’s and its been hard to find a rhythm. Miles 2 and 3 were tough because we were running into a wicked headwind. It was way windier than I thought it was going to be today and i’m glad I took my jacket. At one point it really was like trying to run through a wall, I didn’t feel like I was moving at all, but we got through it and maintained a good pace. Miles 4, 5 and 6 were ok – once we turned around and the wind was behind us things were a bit better. My legs and feet started to ache a bit after mile 6, but thats hardly surprising as we haven’t been that far for so long. I was able to push through and we finished the run strong. The wind must have changed direction whilst we were running because during mile 7 we were running back into the wind again and it was freezing, but if anything it just made us go faster and our last mile was 12:08 which is almost as quick as the first! The tide was right in during the run and very high, and due to the wind it was pretty choppy. During the last mile a big wave hit the seawall and the spray got us! Thankfully at that point we were almost done so we weren’t too bothered! If it had happened at the start of the run I can imagine myself being quite annoyed!

Overall, it was a really great confidence boosting run and i’m so glad because I really think it’s what we needed. We took it back down to run/walk intervals of run 3 minutes and walk 1 minute and this felt comfortable, so I think that’s what we’ll use on the long run’s for the time being.

Monday:

Rest day

Tuesday:

Missed our maintenance run today as Gideon wasn’t feeling 100% and it was very wet and windy out.

Wednesday:

Rest day

Thursday:

Ran 1 mile in 10 minutes 15 seconds. It was horribly cold and wet again so we ran as fast as we possibly could. Not a bad time, but I still really want to get under a 10 minute mile during one of these short runs, so will keep working on that!

Friday:

Rest day

Saturday:

Rest day

Sunday:

Ran 8 miles using run/walk intervals of 3 minutes running and 1 minute walking. Average pace 12:18 per mile.

Also walked 1 mile in the afternoon to try to stop the legs going stiff!

IMG_3845

We may try and do our 10 mile long run next week. It’s actually scheduled for the week after, but we have a 5k race that weekend and doing both 10 miles and then a 5k race the next day might be a bit much. I would like to be in the best shape for the 5k as I want to try and go as fast as I can, so I think attempting the 10 miler next weekend would be the best idea. If it goes terribly or we don’t feel up to it we can always re-think that.

Hope everyone has a great week!

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly training recap: Mon 8th Feb – Sun 14th Feb

  1. Well done! You did well to battle the headwinds. Defo don’t do the 10 miler and the 5k in one weekend – give yourselves the best chance of doing both for a mental and physical uplift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

