Weekly training recap: Mon 14th March – Sun 20th March

This week has been weird for me. Since hurting my knee last weekend i’ve been trying to take it easy and rest so I haven’t done a lot of running, and the running I have done hasn’t been very positive. It’s frustrating as the Cardiff IAAF World Half Marathon is ON SATURDAY. I have no idea if i’m going to be able to run properly, or if i’ll have to walk it. All I know is that i’ll give it my best go and whatever happens happens. Still so frustrating though.

Monday:

Stretching/ strengthening exercises to help the knee + foam roller session.

Tuesday:

Stretching/ strengthening exercises to help the knee

Wednesday:

Stretching/ strengthening exercises to help the knee

Thursday:

Ran 1.36 miles before giving up as the knee was hurting again. Average pace 13’59 per mile. There was a lot of walking.

Friday:

Stretching/ strengthening exercises to help the knee + foam roller session.

Saturday:

Walked 1.11 miles around the lake, to see ‘how fast’ I could walk a mile (incase I need too for the half marathon). It turns out i’m pretty fast. My mile was 14.43 mins which isn’t too shabby, and my knee didn’t hurt walking fast which was good. I don’t know if I could keep that pace up for 13 miles though.

IMG_3979
A crisp wintery day for a walk around the lake!

Gideon ran just over 5k whilst I walked. He did it in 29 minutes and 31 seconds – a new PB and the first time he’s broken 30 minutes! So proud of him! I know he’s going to do so great come Saturday!

Sunday:

More stretching/ strengthening exercises to help the knee.

So yeah – the half marathon is Saturday. The should-have-been-second-half-but-actually-will-be-first half. Or will it even be that? I’ll do everything I can on the day to make sure I finish, so if you feel so inclined please send some prayers and happy thoughts my way! I’m not doing anything up until Saturday though (except stretch). I have the whole week off work this week, so rest should be easy to accomplish. Hopefully that will help enough for me to be able to give it my best go on Saturday. At the end of the day, that’s all I can do.

9 thoughts on “Weekly training recap: Mon 14th March – Sun 20th March

  1. Hope it heals quickly! You might try fish oil and Glucosamine, it’s helped a lot with some knee pain I’ve had. You can get them both at walgreens or wal-mart

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Praying you heal quickly and can comfortably complete the half on Saturday! I know it must be super frustrating, especially after the first was a half of a half! Have you tried KT tape on your knee? I taped mine for Princess weekend and it helped me quite a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – i’ve looked into the KT tape a bit and i’m unsure. Theres a booth at the expo though with a similar type (rock tape i think) so I may speak to someone then. I’m just worried I’ll tape myself wrong and it won’t make any difference – but maybe they’ll be able to do it for me if I buy tape. I’ve also brought a cheap knee brace so maybe that will help.

      Like

  3. Good luck! I’m sending good vibes your way & I hope you don’t have too much pain on Saturday. Have you tried run/walk intervals? Like running for a minute or two then walking a minute. That has been my approach to running lately. I’m super injury prone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 Run/walk intervals are generally what I do now and what I was doing when I first got the pain which was super annoying lol! I might cut them down to really short intervals if it really hurts though – I generally do 3 run 1 walk but maybe i’ll do 30/1 or 30/30 to see if that works. I’m just going to wing it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

