Weekly training recap: Mon 2nd May – Sun 8th May

It’s been a mixed bag as far as training has gone this week. We have got out and ran, but I’m acutely aware that it’s probably not enough considering the Swansea half marathon is only 50 days away. I still think we can pull ourselves back up to standard, but I’m not expecting any major improvements on time from the last half marathon. I think I needed a few weeks off after Cardiff and Swansea has just crept up a bit.

In good news, my knee hasn’t hurt at all whilst running this week. I’ve been using different running shoes to the ones which I injured it in. There still cushioned, but slightly less so than the Brooks I did have (these are Mizuno’s). I feel like perhaps the last pair over corrected my gait too much and these feel better, so I’m going to stick with them. Even on some downhill slopes I didn’t get any pain, so that’s encouraging!

I didn’t make it to the drop in physio this week, but as it hasn’t been hurting I think I’ll hold off for now and see how it goes. I know the drop in physio is there now, so if it starts hurting again I’ll go straight away. I don’t want to waste there time if it’s not currently a problem, especially because I felt really stupid going to the GP and having her move my leg around at all different angles only to find absolutely no pain at all. She probably thought I was nuts!

Monday:

Ran 1.5 miles. Average pace: 11:42 per mile.

Tuesday:

Gid wanted to do a fast mile today so that’s what we aimed for. Turned out it was insanely fast and I smashed my fastest mile again that I’d only set a few weeks previously! This mile was 8:54! Crazy!! Gideon’s was 8:19! Awesome!!

Wednesday:

Rest day

Thursday:

Rest day

Friday:

Rest day

Saturday:

Ran 3.5 miles with an average pace of 12:10 per mile. I spoke about this yesterday. It was a really tough run which I did not enjoy at all mainly due to the heat.

Sunday:

Walked approximately 2 miles around Clyne Gardens which are in bloom at the moment and make for a lovely scenic stroll.

So yeah. As you can see, we have ran, but not nearly at the mileage we should be running considering we are only 50 days out from a half marathon. So this week we really need to make sure we get out and do the full 30 minutes for both maintenance run’s in the week and do a long run of at least 6 miles at the weekend. Then we can just up the long run by a mile each week from now until the half and we should be good to go!

Leave a Reply

