Should I?

Understandably last week was a bit mental – between my husband having emergency surgery to remove his appendix, my horrible cold and then my brothers wedding I have done zero miles of running. Swansea half marathon is 2 weeks away and I really don’t know if I should run it. So far, I’ve only managed a longest run of 7 miles this training cycle which I’m just not sure is long enough, so unless I do manage to get out and do another long run this week I’m not sure it’s sensible.

On the other hand, this isn’t my first half marathon. I do know what to expect now and the last one wasn’t even 3 months ago. Does this mean I should be able to manage it – expecting to be sore and unable to move afterwards of course? I just don’t know.

I’m not the kind of person who likes signing up and paying money for stuff and then not actually doing it.. so I suspect I’ll end up giving it a shot anyway and if it makes for a miserable experience it makes for a miserable experience!

Have you ever been in the situation where you felt under-trained for a race? Did you run anyway? How did it go? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Should I?

  1. You have a little bit of a dilemma, don’t you? Personally, I would continue with your training plan and just see how you feel come the day. My training for races is hit and miss at best. My son and I are running the York 10K at the beginning of August and a half marathon at the end of September and haven’t run further than 5k parkrun so far this year. I have found that, in order to finish, if you have run at least half of the distance in training and you have a race plan (e.g. set your run/walk intervals and stick to them) then you will actually finish.

    I think the bigger question is: Do you want to run without Gid?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t mind running without Gid as he tends to go off on his own in the races anyway so it wouldnt be that different, plus as it’s our local race I know a few other people running. I think I’ll do what you say and see how I feel on the day πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Personally after all your training I would say Go. But go and enjoy the race, enjoy the atmosphere rather than concentrating on time. Maybe run without your watch so you can concentrate on how your body feels, speeding up or slowing down as it dictates rather than your watch x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would say if you have a good baseline of fitness and you feel you can do it, even if you have to do it slower or walk some, maybe it’s worth doing. I’m the same, I hate paying for things and then not doing them.

    Last summer I signed up for the Pontypool 10k in February. Then I had a whole host of health problems and house-buying stress, which meant I couldn’t run. I didn’t do the race, because I knew I just wouldn’t manage it. I was so disappointed. I think if I’d had some level of fitness and thought I’d be able to walk/run in a decent time, I would have had a crack.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

