2 days to go…

…until I run the Swansea half marathon!! So how am I feeling about things this week? Well if I’m honest, I haven’t really given it much thought. I’m feeling a bit indifferent to the whole situation. I’d almost even forgotten it was happening! How bad is that!

I ran on Monday. I did 1.5 miles on the hills in just over 15 minutes which is pretty speedy for me. It wasn’t a bad run particularly but it wasn’t easy. Since then I’ve just been chilling. I’ve had a busy work week so that’s taken up a lot of my time and energy, and today I’m in a bit of a state of shock from the referendum news but I’ve at least got out and had a little walk.

I think I’m prepared. I’m as prepared as I’ll ever be anyway. I’ve not trained enough, but I have a plan and the plan is to take it easy. Basically, I’m not going to push it, I’m just going to enjoy it and soak in the atmosphere. I’m not going to stick to any intervals, I’m just going to listen to my body and run when I want and walk when I want. I’m not taking my watch. It’s chip timed, but I don’t really want to know. If it turns out it went well it will be a pleasant surprise. If it’s snail pace slow then it won’t matter because I’ll still get to eat my weight in nachos guilt-free afterwards! Either way it’s a win win.

I’m going to stick with what I know in terms of fuelling. I almost forgot to buy bananas today when I went to the store because I’d almost forgotten the run was even happening! Then it dawned on me and I thought I’d better stock up. I’ll have chicken and rice tomorrow night for dinner then toast with jam and a banana on Sunday for breakfast. I’ll take water with me and clif shots for energy. That generally works so Sunday should be no exception.

The weather isn’t looking too bad, maybe a few showers, maybe not. A little bit of a breeze. Not to bad at all really. I still think that if I wake up on Sunday to torrential rain though I’ll be staying in bed!

Overall, I thought I’d be more excited to run a half marathon in my home town, but I’m really just feeling quite indifferent to the whole idea. I also feel sad as Gideon still isn’t allowed to run so can’t join me, but he is coming to watch which will give me a nice mid-run boost!

I hope that maybe come Sunday morning I’ll feel a bit more excited about the prospect of running. I’ve never felt less excited for a race, which is weird, but I think that’s just down to not feeling well prepared. Perhaps once I’m with the other 8000 runners and on my way the atmosphere will improve my spirits! If not, I guess the thought of a giant plate of nachos will have to be enough to get me through!

 

4 thoughts on “2 days to go…

Leave a Reply

