My next running goal

So now that I have had some time to recover from last weekends trauma I’ve been thinking a bit about what my next running goal will be. I still want to run, it hasn’t put me off that much, but I still maintain that I don’t want to do another half marathon any time soon.

I’m planning on running the Swansea 10k in September so I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to achieve from that. There are two things:

  1. I’ve been asked to run this race to raise some money for a charity called Tumaini Kwa Watoto – Children of Hope. They are a very small charity which was set up some time ago by friends of mine. They work in Kenya to rescue street children from the streets of Nairobi and reunite them with their families. You can check out their website here for more in-depth information. I would like to try to raise £250 for them (or as much as possible). However, I want a personal running related goal to work towards beyond just finishing this race for charity so that got me thinking…
  2. I know I can now run 5k fairly comfortably without taking any walk breaks, but I still struggle a lot beyond this distance and have to take regular walk breaks. I feel there is absolutely nothing wrong with taking walk breaks and am a huge advocate of the run/walk method as you will know if you regularly read this blog as it’s solely responsible for getting me to enjoy running and ultimately complete 2 half marathons. However, I want to continue to push myself and I feel the next step in this would be to get to the level where I can run a 10k fairly comfortably without any walking. So THAT is my second goal for the Swansea 10k. I want to run it all without any walk breaks. I don’t know if it will make me faster, but that’s not really the point anyway. It’s the goal of enduring running continuously for that long that I want to achieve, whether or not that comes with any increase in my 10k PB time.

So from now until the 10k in September I’m going to train towards this goal. Increasing the distance I can continuously run a little bit at a time. I’ll probably throw in some interval running as well, and some hill repeats and hopefully some cross training. I’m not entirely sure yet. I need to firm up a plan and do some more research on the best way to reach my goal. I hope that by working towards this goal I will be able to keep myself motivated and at the same time raise some much-needed funds for a charity close to my heart.

What do you think? Any tips on how to improve my endurance over the 10k distance? Let me know in the comments section!

3 thoughts on “My next running goal

  1. From my own experience of training for longer distances I have found that cutting your pace down can really have an impact on how far you are able to run. Over time you’ll build up the endurance to be able to run faster over farther distances, but slowing it down at first is definitely a good (and safe!) method of getting to higher mileage. Best of luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

