Weekly training recap: Monday 4th July – Sunday 10th July

Well folks, after the Swansea half marathon a few weekends ago I took off a whole week from running. This week I did drag myself back out there, but just the once, for a very pathetic short lap around the neighbourhood. That was fine though to be honest, it’s been nice not to have any pressure to run (not that anyone puts any pressure on me except myself). I did 1 mile in 11:06. I didn’t find the run easy, but I also didnt find it horrible and I think I paced myself pretty well, which actually was rather annoying as I’d been having so much trouble with that before the half!

IMG_4821
We did take advantage of Mr Sunshines brief appearance on Tuesday and went for an evening walk!

This week I’m going to try to get back into regular routine. I shared last week that I wanted to run the Swansea 10k on September 18th without any walking, so I’ve been thinking of a plan to help me achieve this. I think the way to go is with a very slow build up to 6 miles running by increasing the miles each week like I did when I first started, but this time without using intervals. So my plan is to do something like this:

July 11 – 17: 2 x 1 mile runs and 1 x 1.5 mile run

July 18 – 24: 2 x 1.25 mile runs and 1 x 2 mile run

July 25 – 31: 2 x 1.5 mile runs and 1 x 2.5 mile run

Aug 1 – 7: 2 x 2 mile runs and 1 x 3 mile run

Aug 8 – 14: 2 x 2 mile runs and 1 x 3.5 mile run

Aug 15 – 21: 2 x 2 mile runs and 1 x 4 mile run

Aug 22 – 28: 2 x 2 mile runs and 1 x 4.5 mile run

Aug 29 – Sept 4: 2 x 2.5 mile runs and 1 x 5 mile run

Sept 5 – Sept 11: 2 x 2.5 mile runs and 1 x 5.5 mile run

Sept 12 – Sept 18: 1 x 2.5 mile run and Race dayyyyyyy!!!

So all these runs will be attempted without any walk breaks. I am hoping I can do the vast majority of them, but I’m not going to beat myself up too much if I’m having a particularly tough run and have to walk a little. I know I can comfortably do 3 miles without any walking, but I want to start small because I think mentally it will give me a boost going into the longer distances if I can complete all the shorter ones easily.

Gideon will jump back in and join me in training at the start of August as he’s still on a post surgery running hiatus at the moment.

The above is the bare minimum I want to do each week. If I can do some extra or some cross training then I will, and I will do what I fancy in those moments; intervals, hill repeats, tempo, whatever. However I have recently been offered a new job in research which is what I’ve been working towards so yaaay! But it does mean that my commute is going to go from about 5 minutes to an hour!! It’s certainly going to be an adjustment but I am hoping that I can find a good time for my running and keep on track even with this change.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly training recap: Monday 4th July – Sunday 10th July

    1. Thanks! Totally would if I could but I’m going to be travelling from Swansea to Cardiff which might be a tad far lol! I might see what there opinion on lunchtime running is though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

