Exploring the Gym

Yesterday Gideon and I had our induction at the gym. I’ve always been a bit ‘ugh’ when it comes to gym inductions. I had one at college when I used the gym then and so I therefore feel that I know all there is to know about the gym. Obviously this is not the case! It’s been like 10 years since college, technology has moved on a little even if the basic idea is the same.

I actually found the induction session really helpful – I say session – it’s actually going to be two sessions as the instructor only showed us half the equipment and then booked us an appointment to come back on Thursday! I don’t really want to just stick to the treadmill and the other cardio machines, I want to be able to use the weights and weight machines to do strength training, but they can (and do) look very intimidating to begin with.

Having the instructor go through some of the weight machines with us was super helpful. She showed us the proper posture for each machine so as to lessen the chances of injury. She explained the weights to us. The lowest weight is 5kg. I was expecting it to then go up to 10kg, but it actually jumps straight up to 15kg! Wouldn’t have known that if it weren’t for the induction and probably would have been sufficiently shocked when it was more than twice as heavy, which might have put me off wanting to keep doing it!

As it happens, I did some reps on each machine and was sufficiently surprised by the amount I could already lift. 25kg on some of the machines was manageable. I know that’s not a lot to most, but I have serious chicken arms! There is like no muscle to them whatsoever! So I was pleasantly surprised at myself!

We also did a bit on the exercise bikes (I only biked 3 miles in total across two different bikes but it was still fun) and spent some time on the cross trainer. I really enjoyed the session and it’s got me excited to go back Thursday and test out the rest of the kit.

The only problem is that I seem to have woken up this morning with a rather weird feeling in my right knee. I’m hoping it’s just ache from using it in a different way (from the cycling and lifting etc, as opposed to the running its used to), but it feels a little agitated, almost like it needs to click. Hmmmm. I’ve taken today off running and will run tomorrow instead, so I’m hoping that the extra days rest will fix it and it will just be general post workout aches and pains rather than anything more sinister.

Leave a Reply

