Weekly training recap: Mon 8th – Sun 14th Aug

We have done a lot of exercise this week friends! So much so that I am totally wiped out this evening. I have made sandwiches for lunch tomorrow, put out the bins, put the washing on, made dinner and now I am sitting on the sofa and I am not moving a muscle until bedtime. If there is anything I have forgotten to do I may cry!!! I am totally knackered.

Monday:

Gym session:

  • 1.5 miles on the stationary bike at level 3 resistance (8 minutes)
  • 10 minute session on the cross trainer
  • Various weight machines. 5 reps per machine with various weights from 10kg – 25kg (this was part of our induction)
  • 2 miles on the sitting bike at level 1 resistance (10 minutes)

Tuesday:

Didn’t run today because my knee was hurting from the gym yesterday.

Wednesday:

Knee still playing up so decided to just run at the gym on Thurs.

Thursday:

Treadmill run: 1.5 miles with an average pace of 12:14 per mile. 2 x reps of 6 on the shoulder press and chest press. Stretching.

Friday:

Rest day

Saturday:

Gym session:

  • 12 minute brisk walk at 3.5mph (treadmill elevation level 5)
  • 2000 meter row. Weight level 6. This took just under 16 mins
  • 5 minutes cross trainer effort level 5
  • 8 minutes on hand bike at resistance level 5
  • Shoulder press: 1 rep of 16 then 3 reps of 10 (5kg)
  • Lateral pulldown machine: 4 reps of 16 (5kg)
  • 3 x 30 second planks
  • flutter kicks
  • 4 minute warm down on sitting bike.

Sunday:

Ran 3 miles! This was a horribly difficult run. It’s not sunny here but it is so so humid! I didn’t realise quite how bad it was until we had started. I managed to run the entire thing though (just) average pace was 12:17 per mile. I’m not surprised by this because I was still achy from yesterday. I’m really proud of myself for running the entire thing though, as I wanted to give up so many times. Gideon did really well, he ran the three miles in under 30 minutes! woop!

IMG_5016

Three runs scheduled for next week – 2 x 2 milers and 1 x 3.5 miler – along with some time in the gym and possibly a swim. But a well-earned rest day tomorrow to help me feel a little more alive again!

 

Leave a Reply

