Gideons London Marathon 2017 training recap: Week 1

Why hello! todays post comes from the other part of this running duo (it’s me, Gideon – my first post), as you may of read on previous posts by Amy, this week has seen the start of my Official London Marathon training!

I have decided to run the marathon for 2 reasons, firstly I have always said I wanted to do the London marathon before I was 30 (unfortunately I turn 30 just before but its close enough) secondly, the main reason  I am doing it is for an amazing charity – Children with Cancer who help support children who have cancer and their family’s through the struggles of coping with this horrendous illness and they also help fund vital research to help cure cancer for good!!

Each week I plan to do three runs, two maintenance runs where I will try to concentrate on improving my speed and endurance by incorporating speed runs and some hill work to help with my overall stamina (more on this to follow) and then one long run at the weekend. Along with this I am also going to try and do two cross-training sessions to help me get stronger and generally fitter in the gym/pool.

So on to my first week… and I must say I think it went pretty well. Here is a recap of how week one went:-

MONDAY: I did a gym session to kick the week off the right way, this session consisted of the following:

  • 15 min warm up on bike
  • 15 min interval running on treadmill – 1 min @ 5mph and 2 mins @ 7.5mph
  • 1800 meters on the rower as fast as possible (took 9mins 19sec)
  • 30kg leg press – 3 sets of 16
  • 15kg shoulder press – 3 sets of 16
  • 10 min cool down on the bike

TUESDAY: 45min run on which I managed to cover 3.70 miles with an average pace of 12:11, so not my best but considering it was 1 degree outside I was pretty happy with myself for doing it!

img_0206

WEDNESDAY:  Rest Day

THURSDAY: Another Gym session:

  • 15 min warm up on bike
  • 20 mins on Treadmill – brisk walk – 4.2mph on 5.5 incline
  • 1800 meters on the rower as fast as possible (took 9mins 23sec)
  • 30kg leg press – 3 sets of 16
  • 15kg shoulder press – 3 sets of 16
  • 10 min cool down on the bike

img_0199

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: Ran 5 miles today which took 59 mins with an average pace of 11.54 per mile. I was joined by my running partner in crime (the wife) for the 1st mile and a half.

img_0203

So as you can see all in all not a bad week, this week is going to be a bit more challenging as there is a lovely wet front moving in over Swansea from Tuesday so my outdoor runs are definitely going to get me digging deep but it’s all for a good cause!

If you would like to sponsor me and help me raise my total fundraising goal for Children with Cancer (and give me some motivation) you can visit my virginmoney page here.

Until next week!

 

Leave a Reply

