Gideon’s London Marathon training recap: Weeks 2 and 3!

Good Evening, Gideon here! As you may have noticed, I missed out on last weeks training re-cap so I am going to just do one for the last 2 weeks. Hope I don’t bore you all too much!!

Incase you didn’t catch my last post, I’m running the London Marathon in April to raise money for Children with Cancer UK. This will be my first marathon, and it’s quite a daunting prospect. I don’t really have any goals except for to finish upright and to raise some funds for Children with Cancer. If you would like to sponsor me, you can visit my sponsorship page by clicking here. Even a small amount like £10 could fund the analysis of one tissue sample, to help researchers understand the genetics of heart failure after treatment for childhood cancer, and potentially lead to treatment that could help save lives.

Anyway, here’s how the last two weeks have gone:

Week 2

Monday : Rest Day

Tuesday : Gym Session

  • 15 min bike warm-up
  • Intervals on Treadmill – 2 mins @ 7.5mph, 1 min @ 4.8mph repeat x 10
  • 1800 meters on Rower – 9.08 mins (new PB!!)
  • 3 sets of 16 leg press @35 kgs
  • 3 sets of 16 shoulder press @ 15 kgs
  • 10 min bike cool down
img_0207-1
New PB on the rower!

Wednesday : Rest Day

Thursday : 45 min run – Mixture of speed work and hill work

Friday : 7 Mile run – 01:30:33. Average pace of 12.55 a mile – This was by far the worst run I have had in a long long time however not all is lost as I know exactly what caused it to be so bad and how to rectify it all! I decided to run Friday instead of Saturday as the forecast for Sat was looking bad. I hadn’t fuelled correctly in the day and I don’t think I was dressed correctly for the temp either!

Saturday : Rainy day – lots of Netflix

Sunday : Rest Day

Week 3 

So this week didn’t quite go to plan due to an impending visit from some friends from the USA and your typical winter bout of illness.

Monday : Not very well today

Tuesday : Still not feeling great today so only completed a 1.5 mile run – 17 mins 54 seconds.

Wednesday : Rest Day

Thursday: My plans to go to the gym were scuppered as when I arrived they had closed the place due to a power-cut, so I did a speed mile instead and managed a mile in 8.57. Not the greatest, but considering how I had been feeling earlier in the week this was a massive boost!

Friday : Rest day

Saturday : Woke up with a very bad headache so decided to listen to my body and rest.

Sunday: Spent day with friends from the States.

So not the greatest week to have but I am looking forward to starting a fresh tomorrow and have a nice 9 mile run penciled in for Friday or Christmas Eve which should help counteract any over indulgences on the big day! Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gideon’s London Marathon training recap: Weeks 2 and 3!

Leave a Reply

