Gideons London Marathon 2017 training recap: Week 4

Hello! Its time for my weekly recap on my training progress for the London Marathon, considering all of the distractions in the run up to Christmas it has been a pretty good week!

Monday : Gym Session

  • Warm Up – 10 mins on bike  (with a short cool down)
  • 1.06 miles on treadmill switching between 6/8 mph – trying to build up my speed
  • 1.03 mile brisk walk on a 8% Gradient
  • 3 set of 16 – Leg Press @ 35 kgs
  • 3 sets of 16 – Shoulder press @ 20 kgs
  • 10 min cool down on the bike
img_0238
Bike stats!

Tuesday : Went for a 45 min run which was going pretty well until just after the first mile where I slipped on some wet leaves (more dangerous that ice in my book!) and rolled my ankle. Abandoned the run and hobbled home, as a precaution got ice on it and elevated it. Better to be safe than sorry.

Wednesday : Gym Session

  • Warm-Up – 10 mins on the bike
  • 2.18 miles on Cross-trainer level 7 resistance
  • 1000 meter row on highest resistance as fast as possible – 4 mins 51 secs
  • 15 mins brisk walking (4.5mph)
  • 3 sets of 16 shoulder press @ 20 kgs
  • 3 sets of 16 10 kg kettlebell
  • 10 mins cool down on bike
img_0242
Rower stats!

Thursday : Rest Day

Friday : With Storm Barbra threatening to ruin Christmas I decided to move my run to Friday morning as it was supposed to be the calm before the storm.

So I ventured out at 8am to quote the weather man ‘get the best of the dry calm weather’ before the storm came through… how wrong was he! I was met with strong head winds, cold temperatures and rain but that didn’t stop me going and completing my 9 mile run.

screen-shot-2016-12-24-at-17-41-12

9 miles – completed in 1:46:49 with average pace of 11.51 – with which I was extremely happy considering the weather conditions and how bad my previous long runs have been. The cross-training and strength work is definitely paying off, I managed to get negative splits between miles and I generally just felt stronger 🙂

Anyways as I type this it is Christmas Eve and like most of you I am super excited to see what the big man brings me over night and to have a good excuse to be merry and enjoy myself. So Merry Christmas 🙂

I’m running the 2017 London Marathon in aid of Children with Cancer UK. If you’d like to give me (and them) a  super lovely Christmas present, consider sponsoring me by visiting my page here! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

