Gideon’s London Marathon training recap: Weeks 6 and 7!

Hello Everyone, I hope that you are all having a really good start to the new year! I missed last weeks blog so I am going to be do a quick 2 week recap.

Week 6 (W/C 2nd Jan)

Monday – 2 mile stroll down the seafront today today with Amy to bring in the new year!

Tuesday – Rest Day

Wednesday – Gym

  • 10 min warm-up on bike
  • 500 meter rowing as fast as possible – 2 mins 1 sec
  • 1 mile brisk walk – 3.8 mph @ 12% gradient
  • 3 sets of 16 – Shoulder Press at 25kgs
  • 3 sets of 16 – Leg Press at 20kgs
  • 10 mins cool-down on bike

Thursday – Run

  • 2.10 miles – 21mins

Friday – Rest Day

Saturday – Gym + New Years treat!

I went to the gym and did the following :

  • 10 min warm-up on bike
  • 1.29 mile brisk walk @ 3.8mph on 10% gradient
  • Shoulder Press – 25kgs 3 sets of 16
  • 10 min cool-down on bike

I also treated myself to some new trainers: Asics GT-3000’s – nice little upgrade on my current trainers and plenty of time to break them in before the London Marathon. Full review on this product to follow.

Sunday – Long run Sunday – 11 miles in 2hrs 19mins 28secs – Average pace – 12.41. This was a really good run for me, first time I have run 11 miles in around 9 months so I was happy with the way that I felt during and after which was very good for my moral.

img_0284

Week 7  – W/C 9th Jan

Monday – Rest Day

Tuesday – Took the new trainers on a test run – 1.56 miles (17.03mins)

Wednesday – Gym – Mainly aimed to do strength training in todays session:

  • Warm-up – 15 min walk on treadmill @ 3.5mph on a 3.5% gradient
  • 3 sets of 12 – 20kg leg extensions
  • 3 sets of 10 – 20kg Shoulder Press
  • 3 sets of 10 – 30kgs Leg press
  • 3 sets of 10 – Arm Curls with 9kg dumbbells
  • Cool-down – 10 mins on bike

Thursday – Rest Day

Friday – Run – 4.05 miles at an average pace of 11.07 – Ran on Treadmill due to ice and severe snow warnings (we didn’t get any)!

img_0304-1

Saturday – Was going to go to the gym today but I was unwell so had a rest day

Sunday – 4 mile run – 48.59mins – average pace 12.14 per mile.

Decided to run around my house today for the 4 miles which incorporated a lot of hills which I don’t tend to do on my normal routes so I found this challenging but good. It helped confirm that I really need to add more hill work into my routine.

By next Sunday I will hopefully have done a 13.1 mile long run. This is the first half marathon I’ll have done since last March. I’m both excited and scared to be getting towards the big numbers in training, but hopefully if I fuel right and pace myself then I should be able to give the 13.1 miles my best effort.

I’m running the London Marathon in April for Children with Cancer UK. If you would like to sponsor me you can visit my sponsorship page here. Just £10 helps fund tissue research to help with finding treatments for childhood cancer. Thank you. 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Gideon’s London Marathon training recap: Weeks 6 and 7!

Leave a Reply

