Things you do when your sick and you can’t exercise.

A friend asked me recently if I was still running or if it was just Gideon. I AM still running… I’m not doing the London Marathon, but I am running a couple of times a week and lightly training for my 5k and 10k races coming up in March. Honestly, I just haven’t been shouting about it that much because I figured one person’s training recap is enough – but if you want to hear mine as well let me know in the comments!

I was running anyway, until Tuesday, where I came down with what I assume is flu. I am not talking about a common cold here, the way some people say “I have flu” (something I regretabbly have said many times – never again) when they really just have the sniffles. I am talking about the worst and longest viral infection I can ever remember having endured. I started feeling a bit naff last weekend, my head was stuffy, but I went to work Monday and struggled through feeling rough. Monday night I came home and just gradually felt worse and worse and went to bed early. Tuesday I woke up and everything hurt. I had the worst headache I have ever had in my life, my neck was stiff, my body was achy, I had a crazy fever and was absolutely boiling even though it was like 2 degrees outside. I even had to turn OFF the heating because I was that warm (and our heating is not on for long anyway or on high). I called in sick to work (because there was just no way – none) and continued to feel like I’d been hit by a bus until Saturday. On Saturday, I just felt exhausted, and today I feel a little weak (and still have a cough and stuffed up ears), but mostly back to normal so I’m glad it’s finally gone, and I can’t believe it took so bloody long! So no running for me this week.

As a loving wife, I have lovingly passed it on to Gideon as you do. He’s currently in the full throngs of feeling as if a bus hit you, and is very upset because he had his 13.1 miles planned for this weekend which will now have to be pushed back.

So what do you do when you are sick and you can’t run? Well besides rest, sleep and hydrate there have been a couple of things we have done to ease the misery of not being able to go outside/exercise/interact with the rest of the world!

Watch youtube videos about our upcoming races:

We have done a fair bit of this in the last few days. Gideon has been watching  go-pro videos from the London Marathon. I’ve been looking at the Winterpark 10k videos to get an idea of where we will be running in March. It’s a good way to keep the motivation up and help us feel a little prepared so we don’t lose it completely!

Online shop for new running gear:

Window shop (I should say). We haven’t brought anything but we have done a lot of looking for new gear. It’s fun to dream.

Find out some of the specifics:

This has been a good time to look into the specifics of certain races we will be running. What gels do they have on course? (so we can get some to practice with and hence decide if we need to carry our own or just use the ones provided), what time does the race start? (so what time do we have to get up, leave the house/hotel etc.) Is there somewhere to park? (if so, where, does it cost money). You get the idea.

Plan our next Disney trip:

As well as running videos we have watched a lot of Disney World videos ready for our next trip in 54 days (eee) and finalised some of our plans such as fast-passes, online check-in and dinner reservations. It’s been fun to look forward to something and take our minds off the misery of being sick. See you soon Mickey!

Anyway – we’ll be back out running again in a few days hopefully – once we both feel 100% better. I have learnt that there is no point in rushing things after you have been ill, and as annoying as it’s been to lose a week, in the grand scheme of things I don’t think it will put to much of a dent into our training.

What do you do when your sick and can’t run? Let us know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Things you do when your sick and you can’t exercise.

  1. Well, I’m not sick, but I did manage to upset my knee/hip enough that it’s demanding a few days off. This post is perfect timing! And… we just booked our trip to Disney for this upcoming summer!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

