Gideon’s London Marathon training recap: weeks 8 and 9.

Hello All, I hope that this finds you all well. I must say the last 2 weeks have definitely not gone to plan. My lovely wife came down with the Flu and thought it would be really nice to share it with me which knocked me for six!! So here is a brief recap of the last 2 weeks.

Week 8 – W/C 16th Jan 

Monday – Rest day (or the beginning of the end!!)

Tuesday – Gym – Not feeling great, so thought I would sweat it out to feel better (Oh how wrong I could be)

  • Warm up on bike – 10mins
  • 20mins on Crosstrainer – level 7 maintaining a 7.2MPH pace
  • 1800 meters on rower – Highest level
  • 3 sets of 10 – Leg extensions @ 20kgs
  • 3 sets of 16 – Leg Press @ 30kgs
  • 3 sets of 10 – Shoulder Press @ 20kgs
  • Cool-Down on bike 10mins

Wednesday – Sunday – Unfortunately this was the end of any movement as I came down with the Flu which had me bed bound and really not moving at all.

Week 9 – W/C 23rd Jan 

Monday – Tuesday – Still feeling under the weather so these were both rest days for me.

Wednesday – Feeling a bit better today so I went to the gym just to ease myself back in

  • 10mins warm-up on bike
  • 1.25miles on treadmill – Brisk walk 21mins 57secs @ 8.5% gradient – 3.6MPH
  • 10mins cool-down on bike

Thursday – Rest day

Friday – Back out on the road! Managed to do 5.5 mile run today, average pace of 11.51 so not too bad considering how the last 2 weeks had been.

So not really the greatest two weeks of training. I was feeling a bit deflated about it but got my mojo back after watching some videos from last years London marathon…So bring it on!!!

This week I shall be attempting 14 miles – my longest run EVER! Wish me luck!

I’m running the London Marathon in April for Children with Cancer UK. If you would like to sponsor me you can visit my sponsorship page here. Just £10 helps fund tissue research to help with finding treatments for childhood cancer. Thank you. 

One thought on “Gideon’s London Marathon training recap: weeks 8 and 9.

Leave a Reply

