Gideon’s London Marathon 2017 training recap: Week 10.

Hello All! I hope that you have all had a nice week, here is my re-cap of week 10 of my London Marathon training, sorry it’s a couple of days late!

Week 10 – W/C 30th January 

Monday – Gym

  • 10 min warm-up on bike
  • Treadmill – 18mins – 1.41miles
  • Fast mile on the cross trainer – 8.43mins
  • Leg press- 3 sets of 16 @ 30kgs
  • Shoulder Press – 3 sets of 16 @ 25kgs
  • 10 min cool-down on bike

Tuesday – Run 

Good run today, 2.12 miles which took 23.01 mins with an average pace of 10.50 min per mile.

Wednesday – Rest day

Thursday – Long Run!

img_0346
Kit for my long run prepped and ready to go (with a cheeky chocolate milk for after).

Today I conquered my longest run to date, 14 miles and it wasn’t a pretty one! The weather here in Swansea was absolutely horrible, 30 mph winds, rain, cold but even though this wasn’t my best or fastest run it was still my longest and I am super proud!

img_0350
Longest run ever!!!

Friday – Rest Day 

Saturday – Meet the Experts!

So as you all know as I don’t shut up about it, I am running the London Marathon in April for an amazing charity called Children With Cancer UK. On Saturday I was in London for the London Marathon “Meet the Experts day” where the London Marathon team put on seminars to help you prep for the big day covering multiple aspects such as fundraising, training and nutrition. I will recap the day in more detail in a separate post, but it was a great event and I also got to meet some of the charity representatives from Children with Cancer UK who gave me helpful tips and info to help with my fundraising. I have a virgin money giving page, which you can access here if you would like to sponsor me. We are also planning on doing a car boot sale to raise some extra funds, and a competition where you can guess my finish time and win a prize!

img_0358

Sunday – Lazy Day

As we were in London we took the opportunity to spend some time with Amy’s Aunt and Uncle, enjoying good food and of course watching Wales in the Six Nations.

A quieter week is on the cards this week, with a very-short long run of only 4 miles to help me recover adequately for next weeks 17 miler! I’ll be supplementing my running this week with some time in the gym to build some extra strength.

I’m running the London Marathon in April for Children with Cancer UK. If you would like to sponsor me you can visit my sponsorship page here. Just £10 helps fund tissue research to help fund treatments for childhood cancer. Thank you. 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Gideon’s London Marathon 2017 training recap: Week 10.

    1. Thanks! We do indeed, have you been? We are very lucky to have such lovely beaches and countryside right on our doorstep. Don’t take advantage of it enough sometimes, especially in the winter x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

