Gideon’s London Marathon 2017 training recap: Weeks 11 and 12!

Hello Everyone! I hope that you are all well and have had a lovely weekend! Here is my training recap for the last 2 weeks 🙂

Week 11 – W/C 6th Feb 

Monday: Rest Day (we watched the superbowl so were a little tired)

Tuesday: Rest Day

Wednesday: Gym Session – Strength training

  •  10 min warm-up on bike
  • 3 set of 16 leg Press @ 30kgs
  • 3 set of 16 Shoulder press @ 25kgs
  • 3 set of 16 leg extensions@ 25kgs
  • 3 set of 16 Arm Curls @ 20kgs (10kg each)
  • 10 min cool down

img_0365

Thursday: Run – 1 mile tempo run – 10.59 mins

img_5502
Great evening for running, though utterly freezing!

Friday : Gym Session – Cross-training

  • 10 min warm-up on bike
  • 25 mins on Cross-trainer
  • 10 mins cool down on bike

Saturday:  Rest day 

Sunday:  Run – 4 miles – 46.31 mins

Week 12 : W/C 16th Feb

Monday : Gym Session

  • 10 min warm-up on Treadmill @ 3.6mph
  • 20 mins on Cross-trainer – 2.07 miles
  • 1800 meters on Rower – 9 mins 4 seconds
  • 3 set of 16 shoulder press @ 25kg
  • 3 set of 16 Leg Press @ 30kgs
  • 10 min cool down – 1.56miles on bike

Tuesday : Run 

  • 45 min run –  4.1 miles

Wednesday : Gym Sessions 

  • 10 min warm-up on Treadmill @ 3.6mph
  • 2 mile run on Treadmill – 20mins 47secs
  • 2 sets of 8 – Squats with a 20kg bar
  • 3 set of 16 shoulder press @ 25kg
  • 3 set of 16 Leg Press @ 30kgs
  • 10min cool down

Thursday: Rest Day 

Friday: Long Run! 

So today was supposed to be my longest run to date 17 miles, unfortunately it didn’t quite go to plan. Body was feeling great, breathing was on point so was the pace but at 9 miles a dog on an extendable lead thought it would be fun to run in front of me. In an attempt not to go straight over the top I thought I could dodge and tweaked my knee. I stretched for a little bit and attempted to run it off but it was still hurting so I abandoned the run at 11.31 miles.

 

So I was a little disappointed by this but I have time to get these miles under my belt and not to risk injuring myself any further.

Saturday : Rest day

It was such a lovely day in Swansea so I decided to test my knee out and help loosen those achey muscles Amy and I had a lovely 3 mile walk.

img_5518

So moving on to this week, I am planning to do my 17 mile run in at some point, fingers crossed this one goes better!!

I’m running the London Marathon in April for Children with Cancer UK. If you would like to sponsor me you can visit my sponsorship page here. Just £10 helps fund tissue research to help fund treatments for childhood cancer. Thank you. 

 

2 thoughts on “Gideon’s London Marathon 2017 training recap: Weeks 11 and 12!

Leave a Reply

