An update

This time in three weeks we will be on a plane to Disney World! Eeeeek! 

So hi… it’s me! I haven’t updated in a while. I’ve just been leaving it to Gideon to keep you informed of his London Marathon training and not saying much myself, but I’ve now realised it’s only 1 week until my first 5k of the year and only 4 weeks until my first 10k of the year! I figured it was time to tell you whats been going on!

Firstly, I have been running! Though probably not as much as I should be in order to prepare for these races. Next weekend we are doing the St David’s Day races in Cardiff. I’m doing the 5k and Gideon is doing the 10k. I’m thinking the 5k will be absolutely fine. I know I can run 5k and I’ve done it several times in training, so no issues there. It certainly won’t break any records, but i’ll get around the course, and look at the swell medal they are giving out this year! Yes please!

Pic curtesy of St. Davids Day 10k fb page

The problem I think comes with the Winterpark 10k in Florida on March 25th. Again, another awesome medal- so I want to do it. However I’ve struggled to push my training up past the 5k distance as of late. I can’t really pinpoint why this is if i’m honest. It’s definitely part laziness, but also my legs seem incredibly stiff at the moment every time I go out, which doesnt help matters. I’m planning a 4 mile run tomorrow and I think if I can get that done comfortably then i’ll continue on training for it and hopefully do the race. Again it certainly won’t break any records, but I should get round. 

The only other thing that worries me about it is the heat. The last race we did in Florida was so so warm- unbearably so. I don’t know if I can cope with that again. Those were unseasonably high temperatures though, and this race does take place very early in the morning, so hopefully it won’t be quite so bad. But still, the thought of it does worry me somehow. We get there a week before the race, so plenty of time to aclimatise to the temps. I think the best option is just going to be to do some training runs and see what it’s like. If I can run comfortably in it then i’ll do the race, if I feel it’s to uncomfortable then I won’t, or i’ll walk it. 

Anyway. In 3 week’s we’ll be on a plane, which is so exciting. It’s come around so quickly and I just can’t wait to get out there now and have a proper holiday! Gid will have lots of London Marathon training to do, so we are hoping to get out on some of the new balance trails and do some reviews for you guys. We also have plenty of meals planned and are staying in a hotel we havent been to before, so expect plenty of disney related content when we get back!  So excited!!!!

One thought on “An update

Leave a Reply

