Gideon’s London Marathon 2017 training recap: Weeks 13 and 14.

I’m getting really bad at remembering to blog every week! Call it runners brain! So here we have another 2 week recap but with some exciting developments 🙂

Week 13 – W/C 20th Feb 

You may remember from my last recap, I attempted, but failed to get to 17 miles due to a niggle with my knee (caused by an altercation with a dog and an extendable lead), so this week was centred around trying to tackle that distance again and actually get there this time!

Monday & Tuesday – Rest Days:

I decided to give my knee more time to rest and re-coup from its ordeal with the dog and the extendable lead!

Wednesday – D.Day: 17 mile attempt:

I had planned to do my run on Thursday but with the pending arrival of Storm Dorris I thought it best to get it all done before the worst of the weather (wind) hit. Despite this I was still running in torrential rain and 25-30 mph winds, but I went…I saw… and I conquered my longest run to date!!

img_0382

It felt great to get the miles under the belt and my body felt ok considering the horrific weather. I think I have started to nail my nutrition regime too.

Thursday – Rest Day 

Friday – Gym:

  • Warm-Up – Walking at 3.8mph pace @ 3% gradient – 10 mins
  • Bike 5.48 miles
  • 3 x 16 Leg Press@ 30 kg
  • 3 x 10 Chest Press @ 22.5 kgs
  • Cool Down – Walking at 3.8mph pace @ 3% gradient – 10 mins

Saturday + Sunday:

We spent the weekend away at Amy’s Parents, so I wont lie, we were very lazy and maybe ate too much.

Week 14 – W/C 27th Feb 

Monday – Gym: 

  • 10 min warm up – bike
  • Cross – trainer

Unfortunately I had been on the cross trainer for no more than 3 mins when the fire alarm went off in the gym and we all had to evacuate. Workout abandoned.

Tuesday – Rest Day:

Wednesday – Gym:

  • Warm up – 10 mins on treadmill @ 3% gradient at 3.5 mph pace
  • 2.02 mile run – 21.46 with average pace of 10.46 per mile
  • Cool-Down – 10 mins on Treadmill @ 3% gradient at 3.5 mph pace

img_0389

Thursday – Run:

Ran 1 mile in 10 mins 21 seconds.

Friday – Gym:

  • 4.10 miles on bike – 15 mins
  • 1.41 miles on Treadmill @ 7.5% gradient at 3.6mph pace
  • 2 mile cooldown on bike

Saturday – Rest Day 

Sunday – St David’s Day 10k: 

So today marked the first “race” of the year –  the St Davids Day 10k in Bute park in Cardiff. Both myself and Amy ran the 5k last year in prep for our half marathon, but this year I decided to run the 10k whereas Amy decided to repeat the 5k (full race recap of this from Amy to follow).

It was a very windy day, with some considerable showers around. Luckily the sun came out during the 10k and it didn’t rain at all, although the wind was still very strong in places. I really struggled going into this run as I wanted to race and get the best time possible but I needed to remember to treat this run as just another training run for London with the aim of not injuring myself by pushing to hard.

Well I completed it and it was actually very good. Time-wise it wasn’t my best 10k (1 hour 10 mins 41 seconds – so not terrible either), but at the same time I managed to keep my split and pace on point for where I wanted to be so it was encouraging for me if not fast!

 

 

This week I will be looking to push up to 20 miles for my long run and try to dedicate my other runs to improving my strength and pace. I have run’s of 20 miles and 23 miles planned before the marathon, however we are off to Florida in 2 weeks so I want to get this 20 miler in before we go and then get the 23 miler in as soon as we get back and just try to  consistently in Florida in between.

I’m running the London Marathon in April for Children with Cancer UK. If you would like to sponsor me you can visit my sponsorship page here. Thank you.  

 

Leave a Reply

