St David’s Day 5k 2017 race recap.

So yesterday I completed my first race of 2017 – the St. David’s Day 5k in Cardiff!

As I said in my post last week, I was not expecting to break any records with this race, it was mearly a fun run. I hadn’t trained enough for it to be anything more, and quite frankly even if I had, I think it the sheer nature of this race (I will explain more further down) would have prevented any 5k PB’s from emerging!

The weather forecast for the race was not good. It went from looking dry but cold at the start of the week, to looking wet and windy by the day before. In the end, it wasn’t nearly as bad as it could have been. Heavy winds and heavy showers were predicted, and whilst it was windy, the 45 mph gusts that were predicted hadn’t quite materialised by 10 am so the wind wasn’t anywhere near as bad as I was expecting. The rain also held off for the most part, and all the really angry looking clouds just seemed to skirt their way around the edges of Bute park, where the race was taking place, so that was a bit of luck!

The whole bad weather forecast thing left me dreading this race, but actually it was totally fine. We rocked up about 30 minutes before the start and sat in the car for a bit before wandering over about 10 minutes before the gun. This worked well for me because I wasn’t stood around in the cold for ages beforehand contemplating how miserable it was going to be. It was literally, get there, get going and then before you knew it it was over. Poor Gideon had to wait until midday to run his 10k, so he was feeling a bit grumpy at having to stand around in the cold, but I didn’t have that problem!

I think this race has slightly outgrown it’s location. The starting gun went and we all funnelled through the start line onto the path that lead to the bridge over the river. It was total gridlock for at-least the first .5 mile, and there were times in that first part where I had no choice but to walk even if I’d wanted to run because it was completely bottlenecked. Unfortunately the path’s just aren’t very wide, and because it was incredibly muddy nobody wanted to veer off the path (I tried it once to overtake someone and nearly fell on my face). Hence, if it had been a PB attempt, I wouldn’t have been a very happy bunny! But as it was,this was just a bit of fun for me so I wasn’t overly bothered.

I ran my way around the course, stopping to walk when I fancied it. It’s really quite a pretty park to run around with mile 1.5-2.5ish alongside the river. The river was in full flow today because of the wind and all the rain we have had, and actually looked a bit dangerous and scary, but in a beautiful sort of way, if that makes sense. Eventually, I crossed back over the river and that’s when it started to rain a little, but it was a nice refreshing light shower rather than a heavy downpour so all was well.

I crossed the line in an abysmal 38 something minutes, but that’s ok. Like I said, this was a fun run, not meant to break any records and I did enjoy it, despite thinking I wouldn’t. Plus I got this lovely (all be it slightly smaller than I was anticipating) medal.

This is the second time I have run the St. David’s Day 5k, and both times I have enjoyed it. It’s a lovely flat scenic course. The race is well organised and marshalled and is perfect for beginners. I would say that it’s gotten so popular now that unless you fight your way through to start right at the front I wouldn’t expect to break any records. Bottlenecks are a problem, but if your just in it to have a good time, then it definitely ticks that box.

 

One thought on “St David’s Day 5k 2017 race recap.

Leave a Reply

