Gideon’s London Marathon 2017 training recap: Week 15!

Hello All, I’ve actually remembered to blog this week yay! So here is my recap for the last week:

Week 15 – w/c 13th March

Monday – Rest Day

Tuesday – Run

  • 3.01 miles which took 31 mins and 58 secs with an average pace of 10.38 per mile.

Wednesday – Rest Day

Thursday – Long Run day!

So today was my attempt of 20 miles and lets say it really really didn’t go to plan, about an hour before I was due to start running I wasn’t feeling great but I thought it would pass. The first 3-4 miles were good, my pace was on point and my legs were feeling good but disaster struck at mile 6, I took a gel like normal and then I promptly threw it back up.

I thought that it was just me and the gel not mixing, I continued to run and wasn’t feeling great, I got to mile 9 and attempted another gel and I again promptly threw this back up and was feeling really really unwell. So after walking for another mile to 10 still feeling awful, I abandoned the run.

IMG_0406

As much as I was gutted that I didn’t get to the miles I wanted, I still managed 10 miles at a solid pace, with each mile split being within 2 seconds of each other! I’m learning that not hitting my targets isn’t failure –  it’s just life sometimes.

Friday – Went to the gym and did a recovery walk 3 miles easy pace and gradient

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Car-boot sale!!

So as you all know by now I am taking part in the marathon to help raise lots of money for the amazing charity that is Children with Cancer UK. Today as part of my fundraising the wife and I did a car boot sale!

Myself and Amy had researched car boot sales in the area to ensure that we got the best possible place to maximise our selling potential and we found a good one housed in a multi-story car park all undercover which meant sun, rain or snow we would be able to do our sale…or so we thought!!

We turned up at the car park at 6.30am only to find that there has been a serious police incident and that the multi-story and the surrounding roads has been closed. They had however managed to secure use of the small carpark next to the multi-story, which could only house about 30 cars. Thankfully we arrived just in the nick of time and were the last car into the car park!

As we had planned for a covered car-boot we hadn’t bothered looking at weather forecasts. We managed to have a dry hour or so but then heavens opened on us and it rained for about 45 mins. It then cleared for another couple of hours and then started to rain again quite heavily at around 11am so we decided to close up shop (about 1 hour before we were due to). Despite the less than ideal conditions we managed to raise £60, which will help towards our target, and we still have some stock leftover to sell online and hopefully make even more!

IMG_0408

This week I am planning to re-attempt my long run. Originally, I was going to do a 20 mile run (that should have been this weeks) and then a final 23 mile long run after I returned from holiday, but given whats happened, I have adjusted this plan slightly and will be doing an 18 mile run this week and then a 20-21 mile run when I get back from holiday. Having spoken to lots of people and researched marathon training plans on the internet, I am confident that a 20 mile final long run should be sufficient. Hopefully, this week, I’ll manage to get those 18 miles in and feel a bit more confident about things going into my holiday weeks in Florida. And don’t worry – it might be holiday but plenty of running is planned for then too!

I’m running the London Marathon in April for Children with Cancer UK. If you would like to sponsor me you can visit my sponsorship page here. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

