I’ve been signing up for things….!

Oh dear….

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 19.05.52

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear…..

That’s right. I’ve thrown my hat in. Maybe 2018 will be my turn to run the London Marathon. Maybe not. We’ll have to wait till October to find out. In any case, I’ve made Gideon promise not to enter the ballot this year so he doesn’t end up stealing my place 😛 Stupid I know as there are probably 150,000 other people who’ll steal it, but I’d be livid if he got to run it again and I didn’t ha!

I enjoyed spectating this year, watching everyone run by from the fastest to the slowest, and at the time it almost put me off a little seeing the pain on a lot of people’s faces. But despite the fact that everyone looks in pain at the time they all rave about it afterwards. No one regrets doing it. Everyone says what a wonderful (though hard) experience it is, and that’s what has made me enter the ballot again. It’s an inspiring kinda race.

Anyway, if one wants to (maybe) run the London Marathon in 2018, then one really should get her butt back into gear and actually bother to do some running in 2017!!! Hence I’ve also signed up for this…

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 19.16.58

After having horrible experiences at both the Swansea half marathon and the Swansea 10k, I’ve basically decided that Swansea races are not for me! It’s the out and back nature of them I think, I just don’t like seeing how far I still have to go laid out in-front of me like that. I’d rather the distance was concealed by lots of corners so I can pretend the finish is closer than it actually is. Hence I’ve gone for the Cardiff 10k as my autumn race this year.

And I’ve decided I’d like to get a PB in this race, so I really better get my arse in gear, as I’ve put on about a stone in weight in the last 6 months and I’ve done barely any running past the 5k distance since Christmas.

I’ve finally managed to polish off the easter chocolate today, so the aim is a more healthy diet from now on. Obviously I’m not going to deprive myself of yummy unhealthy things, but I’ll try to keep them to ‘in moderation’ rather than ‘all day every day’. Hopefully the combination of more exercise and a better diet will help me feel less like a slob and improve my running speed (I know it will – it has before).

So consider this my comeback post – it’s time for this potato to get back off the couch!

2 thoughts on “I’ve been signing up for things….!

Leave a Reply

