The comeback is on!

Ok guys, so my last post was a couple of weeks ago where I told you that I’d signed up for some races because I needed to get back to being fit and healthy. We’ll it took a little longer to get back to it than anticipated, but the comeback is most definitely now on.

Soon after I wrote that post, I ended up getting some sort of viral thing, which gave me a cold for a few days and then migrated up to my ears where it has been causing me hassle ever since. I spent a couple of days feeling really dizzy and off-balance, and still haven’t quite got back to normal (although it’s a lot better than it was) so I only started my workouts again this week.

I’ve managed to get in 3 gym workouts in this week. I haven’t stated running yet because I’m still feeling a bit dizzy and off-balance. Instead, I’ve been using the bikes and the cross trainer in the gym. Heres how the weeks workouts looked:

Tuesday:

  • 10 minute warm up on the bike (resistance level 3)
  • 20 minutes on the cross trainer (resistance level 3)
  • 10 minute cool down walk on the treadmill (speed 2.7)

Calories burnt: Don’t know – forgot to write it down!

Saturday:

  • 23 minutes on the cross trainer (resistance level 3)
  • 1000m on the rowing machine (resistance level 6)
  • Weight machines (3 sets of 8 reps – between 7.5kg and 15kg depending on the machine)
  • 10 minute cool down on the bike

Calories burnt: 262

IMG_6669
Yet to perfect the art of the gym-selfie!

Sunday:

  • 25 minutes on the cross trainer (resistance level 3)
  • 10 minutes cool down on the bike

Calories burnt: 221

It’s been so nice to get back into working out, and I’m already feeling the beneficial effects. I feel much less lethargic, even though it’s only been a week. Exercise really is good for the mind, body and soul!

I weighed myself when I went back Tuesday and I was 70 kg (11 stone) so I’m aiming to drop a stone although I’m not putting a time scale on it. As long as things are going in the right direction then that’s fine by me.

I’ve also been tracking what I eat via myfitnesspal. Even though I often go over my daily calorie allowance, I feel like the tracking is definitely helping me to curb my snacking, e.g. instead of having 5 biscuits I’m just having one, because I’m more mindful of how many calories each of those biscuits contain. We’ve stocked the fridge and cupboard with lots of healthy and low-calorie snacks, such as feta cheese, blueberries, melon, popcorn, and my absolute favourite at the moment – Jaffa Cake flavoured alpine cereal bars!!!

IDShot_540x540
These things are the best!

So things are definitely going well. I hope to start a bit of running this week. I’d like to do a couple of short runs to get back into the swing of things. Gideon is still suffering a bit with the shin problem that bothered him at the London Marathon, so we are trying to take it easy and let that heal. Hopefully with a bit of rest from running that will sort itself out, and we’ll be able to get back on it properly. For now, I’m enjoying the cross trainer at the gym!

Leave a Reply

